Even though sugar cane is a grass plant and therefore a distant relative to the gluten grains wheat, barley and rye, it does not contain the harmful gluten protein. Therefore, pure sugar made from sugar cane won't cause you to react if you're following the gluten-free diet.Jun 8, 2016